The Gray Place

Warbringer

Posted in General Me, Instances, WoW by mrfenris on January 26, 2011

Just a half-ass observation while I drink my coffee.

When I heal, I feel very connected to my party.  I’m talkative (“your standing in shit!”), I’m very aware and plugged in (“Uhhh that players too far away for Lightwell…”), and I feel this weird kinship with my party.

But when I tank I don’t give a shit.

Maybe it’s because my Warrior is like the unwanted dog who gets passed around to multiple owners via LFG.  But I’ve got a strange disconnect with the rest of my party and I’ve always secretly believed that tanks, not only tanks mobs and bosses, but they also tank against the rest of the party.

Why do I get this huge chip on my shoulder when I tank?  I actually find healing to be more stressful (and I enjoy it), then I do the act of tanking.

Going further down that road, the only part of tanking I find stressful at times is the fact that I am a tank.  Tanking mobs is easy, but sometimes it’s a pain being a tank because people don’t want your Hunter to come DPS, they don’t want you to switch to a DPS spec, they want to lock you in as the tank.

And I’m not whining.  The level of stress I feel isn’t comparable to any real life stress, but it’s more of an annoyance.  I mean I like that I have a class that can be useful, but man sometimes I just wanna do something else besides stand there and get face smashed by a boss.  (It can be quite un-engaging at times.)

On my tank I go from pack to pack as fast as my healer’s mana and DPS capabilities will allow.  I don’t “see” the rest of the party.  I spin my camera and pull any mobs headed their way, but they are just a lump of pixels that follow me around the instance.

Is it just because on my Warrior I constantly feel this urge to “gogogogogo”?  I mean Warbringer is freaking awesome.  I find myself constantly pulling on my warrior to keep my rage up, get ahead of the locks and hunters who like to shoot before I even touch a mob, and get my rend/thunderstomp in on the pack before my party catches up.

On my Paladin I was very measured and paced.  I liked to chain pull, but everything was smooth, orchestrated, and “safe” in my “969” rotation (haven’t tanked on it in Cata).  I was the elite badass guy striding across the battlefield destroying my enemies with ease as they came at me in measured, even paces like you see in the movies.  If I need too I can draw on the strength of the Light and heal myself and protect myself from damage.  After the fight I am unscathed and pure.

On my Warrior it’s more like a rolling street fight, where everything blurs.  I Charge in ahead of everyone else, put a Bleed on em, slam the ground, and start tabbing through targets, dropping Cleaves, Sunders, Shield Slams, and Shield Bashes.  This red haze settles over me and I become a swirling machine of death.  If a mob tries to run away I Shield Bash it in the head.  The only escape is death.  As I kill mobs via Cleaves, then boom Victory Rush starts proccing and I want to cackle as a mad man because the more stuff I kill the more life I gain.  I am the berserker on the battlefield with all the arrows sticking out of me, covered in my own blood and the blood of my enemies.

To me the two classes have two very distinct feels when it comes to tanking on them.  Yet the Warrior pushes me even further away from my group then my Paladin did.  With my Paladin it was more “Let’s go together.” while on my Warrior it’s just “Follow me.”.

Chargechargechargecharge.  “Thanks for the group.”  Leave.

And I’m not a dick about it.  I always make sure my healer is around and try to keep the stress off them.  I turn my targets and try to go a bit slower if I’ve got melee DPS (so they don’t have to chase shit all over).

When I’m tired from the day it’s far easier for me to log in and tank something then it is for me to log in and heal something.  Healing just seems to bring out more of an investment in me and sometimes I just want to get in, get out, and get it done.  When I’m tanking, I can just shut off and be “alone”.

Dunno.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bee said, on January 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    “On my Warrior it’s more like a rolling street fight, where everything blurs. I Charge in ahead of everyone else, put a Bleed on em, slam the ground, and start tabbing through targets, dropping Cleaves, Sunders, Shield Slams, and Shield Bashes. This red haze settles over me and I become a swirling machine of death. If a mob tries to run away I Shield Bash it in the head. The only escape is death. As I kill mobs via Cleaves, then boom Victory Rush starts proccing and I want to cackle as a mad man because the more stuff I kill the more life I gain. I am the berserker on the battlefield with all the arrows sticking out of me, covered in my own blood and the blood of my enemies.”

    Absolutely love this description. I do feel when rolling with a Warrior tank that the pace of the entire fight is different. It’s more raw. Maybe it’s just the way charge looks. At any rate, this paragraph has made me want to roll a warrior tank.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

