The Gray Place

I quit.

Posted in Gaming, General Me, WoW by mrfenris on March 16, 2010

My online friends tease me about quitting WoW.  I have been talking about quitting since I started.  I started playing midway through BC.  It was supposed to fill my time and keep the addict side of my brain busy.

I am an addict.  I get addicted to anything.  My addictions consume me and I’m wracked by them until they suddenly stop and I find something new to be addicted too.  I don’t mean to make light of people who have serious addictions to substances or behaviors.  My addiction is more like blowing several hundred dollars on a new hobby and obessing over it and tearing it apart via articles/media/theory/etc then toss it in a heap into a corner and find something new to feed off of.

I think the root of it lies in the fact that we moved constantly when I was a kid.  My father is largely the same way.  Although he’s addictions were job related.  Well that and he has a knack for burning down everything he “touches” including work relationships.  I was always the new kid.  It’s why I tend to be very outgoing even though I’m a shy person.  I do it out of aggressiveness which in this respect is based on fear.

Make no mistake.  I do not complain about my childhood, especially with outsiders.  That’s against the code.

When I started WoW, I never expected to get to level 70.  My constants were, “when I get my flying mount I’ll quit”, “when I hit 70 I’ll quit”, or “I’ll quit before I even get near Kara (I had no idea what it really was)”.

Yet here I am knee deep in ICC.  Some might say that this is a testiment to Blizzard’s game design.  Other’s might say it’s a reflection of the friends I’ve made in my guild (2+years BTW).

Me?  I say it’s because there’s no other MMO out there to get addicted to yet.

Until then.  I am a retired Guild Leader who acts as the Raid Officer/Leader in a small (on purpose) 10 man Horde guild.  My main is a Protection Paladin who takes time away from my beloved Muti Rogue, OP MM Hunter, and my baby Shadow/Holy Priest alts.  I raid twice a week for about 3 hours each time, and I log in 3-4 times a week total.  Not very addicted.

I tend to enjoy melee classes better then casters, but every once in awhile I like to log on my Hunter just to laugh at how easy it is to be a ranged DPS.  Although I usually am crying on the inside because the same DPS I have to WORK for on my rogue I can faceroll on my Hunter.   (You try having to chase your targets everywhere and don’t get my started on fights where you have to switch targets and move across the room…)

That being said.  There’s nothing more satisfying then running up to your target and stabbing them in the face.  I think it stems from me spending all me time as a tank (yeah leveling as Prot back in BC was harsh).   I just don’t feel right unless I’m in the middle of all the action. I just feel better with mobs around me.

BTW I plan on quitting after Cataclysm.

Leave a Reply

