The Gray Place

Solo

Posted in General Me, WoW by mrfenris on March 22, 2010

Solo dad weekend. My lovely pudgy wife works every other weekend. I have a sneaking suspicion she’s nicer to her patients (post-surg nurse) then she is to me. I don’t care if their sick and dying. I deserve it more. Not to mention she only has a finite amount of niceness. In fact I know she’s nicer to them. I’ll remember that when she’s old, brittle, and standing at the top of the steps.

I do not play video games while my kids are awake. In fact one of my pet peeves is when I’m playing WoW and I hear someone’s young kid on vent or they refer to having to go AFK to take care of their children. Now this is probably self-righteous of me and I can already hear a the gnashing of teeth from offended people. I really don’t care.

I am the first to admit that I am not a fantastic parent. My children always have enough to eat, say please and thank you, yet one will probably grow up to blow up government buildings and the other will probably be on Girls Gone Wild. However I do not play video games while my kids are awake unless I’m playing it with them. (Secret: I taught my then 3-year-old son, left/right/north/south playing Grand Theft Auto 3 with him. No we did not play the missions, he just drove around. Okay some people died from him crashing into them. But hey it taught him to look both ways when crossing the street.)

I cannot be a halfway decent parent (remember I’m already not that great to start with) and raid or even run a five man. I can’t even use the TV to babysit them, because I have to save that for when I wanna put the moves on the lovely chubby wife.

I was in a pugged ToC10 man on my Hunter this weekend and I almost puked with this moron had to go AFK to change his kid. WTF if the kid is young enough to still be in diapers, shouldn’t you be oh-I-don’t-know spending time with “it”? Creep.

On my main I had a ICC 10 raid friday night. It went “meh”. Usually I let the healers pick their own assignments (they all work well together) but I had to actually tell them who I wanted healing who on Rotface. We downed it as soon as I changed it. Yes I’m taking the credit. I cannot drill into their heads enough that each person HAS to be responsible for themselves and their assignments.

My daily’s weren’t too exciting and I ran Mara on my baby priest 3 times too many. Man I hate that place, however once I did get to DPS. I normally don’t care for casters but I like DPSing as Shadow. Although on almost every single trash pull in Mara I lamented for the lack of AOE. I don’t think I even get Mind Sear till level 72.

I did put on an “old pair of slippers” when I fired up GTA IV. I hadn’t played that game since I got it for my birthday or was it X-Mas (thanks Mom)? In a lot of ways it’s like coming home. It’s a familiar safe feeling…car-jacking, beating up innocents for cash, and performing domestic acts of terrorism. I found myself playing it more than WoW this weekend.

In some ways the solo dad weekends are perfect for gaming…

Kids in bed by 7:30 firm. Check. (my kids get up at 5am that’s why they don’t stay up late)

Wife gets home around 8pm after working 12+ hours, showers, goes to bed. Check.

Dad stays up playing video games all night long in peace and quiet. Check.

Ahhh. Just me and my pixels.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dvotee said, on March 22, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Very interesting post and I have to admit that I was one of the people that you hate….

    I have 3 children (2 live with me) and they are always in bed by 8pm-8.30pm which gives me time for wow or xbox, whatever. Up until about a year ago I had never stepped foot into a raid because of my children. I was purely pvp because with pvp if my kids needed me I could just leave immediately and if I got kicked then I take the punishment, wait the time and then I’m set to go.

    My kids are a bit older now and I do raid but it’s interesting to see how if other people have to go afk you hate it. Yes I’m shocked infact.

    What if your wife is asleep (having worked a shift) and at say 10.30 one of your kids is ill and wakes up, you are raiding..what do you do?

    My attitude was when I started raiding with my guild was everyone knew I had kids and they wanted me to raid so accept it. Yes I agree it can be frustrating when people go afk because of their kids but what I find even more irritating is when you hear someones mobile go off (on vent) and they say phone brb and then have a chat for 15 mins.

    If you have to go afk in the middle of a raid, at least have a valid reason and not one just because you want to play wow and sort out your social life.

    One sec, kids need me…..brb 😉

    • mrfenris said, on March 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I realize I’m probably projecting some horrific preconceived notion of someone locking their children in a closet with wild raccoons while they are spamming heals in ToC 10.

      I don’t mind it when people go AFK for the real life duties. They come first. What bothers me is when people put a video game ahead of their kids.

      My son once came downstairs sick one night and decided to throw up in my office during a raid. I made him clean it up and fined him 50 DKP.

      Actually I wiped the raid cus I went and took care of him.

      What I don’t get is when it’s 11pm and I’m hearing junior in the background wanting his sippy cup filled again.

      Me being judgmental.

      ***

      I got sooo happy when I saw MW2 on your blog. I was like “Mechwarrior 2….kickass!”. Yeah then I saw it was Modern Warfare 2….

      I’m one of those people who am 5 years behind everything. Fact I just got a cell phone of the non-work variety. I figure I’ll get ModWar2 360 when they next Xbox system comes out.

      Maybe I’ll even try that God of War thing I keep hearing about.

  2. dvotee said, on March 23, 2010 at 12:23 am

    No no not at all, you never gave me that impression, I was just curious as to what you would do that was all. Like you said, people going afk coz of their kids and then you say you have kids.

    Tbh, my 2 youngest we right horrors when it came to sleeping so I never raided and still dont that much. Whilst they have got better they still wake up and I don’t think its fair that 9 or 24 other people have to wait on me and my kids and why I will never have top gear but its a game at the end of the day and your kids must always come first.

    I only got my xbox 4 weeks ago so you are way way ahead of me….been wow and wow only for the last 4 years but thought I’d give it a go before the kids get older and start beating me (see im thinking ahead) althought my 11 year old daughter kick my ass at Forza…jeez I’m getting old haha!

    Modern Warfare 2…….has it’s issues but a great game and I’d strongly recommend it. As for Mechwarrior….OOOOOKK what is that? ;

    • mrfenris said, on March 23, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      It is a game of giant robots who shoot each other. Secret: If you call them robots fan boys come over to your house and kick over your trash cans, while screaming “Their MECHS, not robots!!!”

      Mechwarrior comes from Battletech (which was Battle Droids, until it aggro’d George Lucas). It’s been a table-top miniature game, console game, RPG, PC game and even a card game. (I quite liked the card game.)

      There’s genetic Clans, feudal Houses, Samurai, Religious Zealots, all sort of fun stuff.

      I don’t think the Xbox ports are very good. They are an arcade style game and not very good at that IMO. The PC version were much better, even if the graphics were slaggish.

      Rumor has it, there is a MMO in the works.


Leave a Reply

