The Gray Place

My Huntard needs a new home.

Posted in Gaming, WoW by mrfenris on April 1, 2010

I applied to a casual guild with an alt of mine.  They had an odd little application.  Figured I’d share.

***

Howdy.

1. What is your primary character’s name/class/level?

Blank, Marksman Hunter, lvl 80. I use a wolf mostly.

1a. If you are interested in raiding with us, are you willing to build a secondary set, and respec as necessary (generally to dps) if the raid needs it, without bitching excessively?

Yes. If you need replenishment I can off spec Surv. Just gotta remember how to play Surv. I also can swap out pets as needed. (Wasp for the armor debuff if needed, tanking pet stun, etc.) I can spec BM too if needed. Just need to a hit EJ to get back up on BM.

2. What alts do you have that you also wish to join the guild?

None. This character is actually my alt.

3. What previous and current MMO’s have you/do you play?

I played Ultima Online, EQ, Dark Age of Cameltoe, and EVE (until my free trial ran out). I just play WoW now, but I enjoy a lot of single player PC games and enjoy getting my ass kicked in Mario Kart by my 6 year old son.

4. On a scale of 1 to 10 how good a gamer are you, and why?

In WoW I’m a 9ish. I watch videos, read forums, and “see” the game instead of clicking my rotations. I understand encounter mechanics and my class.

I suck at FPS being maybe a 6.5. RTS I’m an 8 (damn twitch based gameplay!). Turn based strats I’m a 9. I’m a 9 in table top RPGs, I’m was 7 in Legend of the Five Rings CCG, was a 8 in Magic: the Gathering, and was a 9 in Mechwarrior miniatures.

5. Do you meet our age requirement (18 and over)?

Yes. My wife tells me I’m 33. I honestly can never remember because it doesn’t matter that much to me.

6. Have you read all the posts in the About Blank section of the forum?

Yes I did. While being paid at work. FTW.

7. If we had a party in real life, what would you bring?

Patron tequila. I like to drink it out of a Silo cup while drinking Corona, Dos Equis, or Red Stripe. I’m partial to New Castle Brown Ale. And if you ever get near New Glarus Wisconson head over to the New Glarus Brewery. Try the Uff Da and the Spotted Cow.

I might bring my two chocolate labs too. They are like drunken frat boys.

8. What are your expectations from the guild?

To provide a place where like minded people can meet and play together. In my case I’m a overworked, balding, chubby, father, and husband who has zero time for causing drama, and likes to play a video game with other people looking to blow off steam and unwind from real life. That being said. I like to try and play it well.

9. Have you been in any other guilds? Which? Why did you, or why are you leaving them?

I’m currently in Blank. I have NOTHING bad to say about them. Their raid times don’t match up well with my real life. I’m hoping yours do, but I haven’t been able to find that out on your site. I like to raid. I don’t expect to join a guild and get a front line raid spot. I’ll pay my dues and help out where I’m needed. However in HA, I just CAN’T because they start raiding while my kids are still up and I don’t play while my heathens are still awake. (They go to bed at 6:30 server FIRM)

My wife and kids are all in bed early so I don’t have any distractions. What times exactly do you raid?

10. What do you like to do in the game (world pvp, instances, etc)?

I like instances, but they get a bit boring after awhile. I like the newer ICC ones, because I can actually do things like pet tank, silence, and trap to help out in HoR. In normal heroics it’s kinda blah because you multi-shot, misdirect, volley, and take a swig of beer.

I love to raid. I’ve tanked and raid lead Kara through 6/12 ICC on my main. I enjoy working with 9 other people to get a boss down.

11. If you are interested in 25 man raiding with us, what are your available nights and times for 25 man raids?

I can make nearly any night other then Tuesdays and Fridays. I raid lead and tank on my main those nights. (I don’t bring Blank into that guild, since those are the only nights we raid and I’d have zero chance of getting him in a raid). I prefer 10 mans to 25 mans because I think their a little more cozy and tighter knit. But I don’t have a ton of 25 man experience other then a few pugs. I run mostly 10s.

12. Do you know what parachute pants are?

Yes.

13. If the answer to 12 is yes, did you ever own any?

Negative. I rocked my black Levi jeans though.

14. If the answer to 13 is yes, do you still own them?

15. If the answer to 14 is yes, dear god why?

16. What do you think you can bring to the guild? Why are we going to be happy you joined us?

I dunno. I’m a little worried. You have like 4,593 members. Am I the best out of all of them? No. (Yes I realize some are alts.) I can bring a good attitude, I don’t mind paying my dues, and a solid playing ability within gear range and encounter design. I won’t be a dumbass. I try and play well. I don’t mooch or whine. If I screw up I admit it.

17. Pick one: Moist or Cornbread.

I’m greedy. I want moist cornbread with a pat of butter on it, a side of greens, and fried chicken. A nice cool glass of milk followed by a piece of pecan pie or bread pudding and a cognac or coffee.

18. Tell us something cool that happened to you recently in real life. If cool things don’t happen to you make something up.

My 6 year old son got into an advanced Math, Science, and Technology academy, my 2 year old daughter hits with a closed fist and turns her wrist when she throws a punch, and my wife and I had sex at least once the past 8 months.

19. Do you have anyone already inside who could reference you in a good or bad way? (Who?)

No.

20. If it’s in a bad way, what methods have been selected to dispose of them before they can affect your application?

21. If you half-assed this application, and didn’t even attempt to give us more than a sentence on a single question, why the hell should we still accept this application?

I wouldn’t. I’d trash it then grief them.

22. Fill in the blanks with

a) their
b) there
c) they’re

“The family went into town to look for _A_____ dog. They checked the pound but he wasn’t __B____. After finding nothing ____C____ very despondent.

23 Which of the following is not a punctuation mark

a) .
b) ?
c) lol
d) !
e) none of the above

C lol

24 Do you like Kipling?

a) Yes.
b) No.
c) I’m a vegetarian.
d) I don’t know. I’ve never kipled.

B.

25 How spicy do you want your food prepared, on a scale of 1 to 10?

7 maybe? I won’t go past a Habanero in terms of heat. Well maybe if you cook the peppers down a bit.

***

Sorry if this seems disjointed. I’ve done it over the course of drying dishes, eating dinner, and pretending I was listening to my wife talk about her work.

Thanks for your time.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Adam said, on April 2, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I don’t know if this is an April fools post or not, but that is one guild app that I approve of. Oh, and I’d take you, even though you’re a hunter.

    adam.

  2. mrfenris said, on April 2, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Hey Adam thanks for the comment. Nope wasn’t an April Fool’s joke.

    I like to browse through your site while I drink my coffee at work, via Gevlon’s page. I had to laugh out loud when I read your site a few days ago talking about leveling a rogue.

    I leveled as sub till about level 58 and I hit Outlands. Then I went combat because the damn Fel Orcs would tear me apart while questing as a sub. But I did learn a lot about CC and how to stretch my abilities.

    I went Muti in NR and have never looked back. I think Muti damage needs to be tweaked (like they are talking about), but man I don’t have a ton of sympathy for being slightly OP, considering how much DPS I lose due to knockbacks, chasing my target, or switching targets as a rogue.

    I feel almost guilty on my Hunter because it’s so easy.

    • Adam said, on April 2, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      Yeah, I get hunters marked and then they start using some sort of fancy shot in BG’s and I’m like, oh well, there goes that. And Gevlon’s page is also browse city for me. Lke yours too, hope you can keep it going.


Leave a Reply

