The Gray Place

Fuck Community

Posted in Gaming, General Me by mrfenris on April 9, 2010

Community.  It’s a word that makes me cringe.  In blogging or gaming the concept of community makes me retch.  I am not talking about the concept of your neighborhood and the people you share your environment with.  I’m talking about the social connotations that comes from the word community.

People always sing about the community of blogging or the community of gaming in a hopeful, clear, angelic voice.  When the word is brought up, cherubs pluck at little tiny harp strings with their fat little fingers, and everyone sighs and pretends their part of something “greater”.

Bullshit.  I think this concept has become a refuge for people who cannot form their own opinions and merely latch onto the last idea or concept they heard and make it their point of view.  Communities are stagnant places where there’s a status quo; Where evolution does not take place.  This type of behavior almost demands an opposite force, a hammer to smash it to a million pieces.  Everything must be destroyed in order for creation to have purpose and function.

I am tired of “blogging” communities.  People languish in them, roll about on their blogs like they’re pillows and reach for another sweet meat off a neighbors platter.  Lazily they reach over and borrow an idea or a shared topic from someone else just in order to have an “opinion” or a post to put up.  As if their readers demand such a thing.  I can’t think of anything more insulting to someone who reads your blog.  As if they cannot make it through the day if you don’t put up a daily post.

Then comes the oh so subtle “trick” of turning your post into a question at the end, in order to generate comments.

“That is why it is my opinion that blah is always superior to blah blah.  I’m curious to know if you agree or maybe I’m looking at it wrong?”

Bullshit.  If you’ve got an honest opinion then you really don’t care what other people’s are.  I like pie.  I KNOW it’s better than cake.  I give a fuck if you like cake.  I don’t care about the impactful cake events of your life.  I know my pie is and always will be superior.  I don’t need a conversation to teach me the errors of my ways and I don’t need a post count or readership to validate me as a person and my thoughts.

(I enjoy being wrong in life.  I like to understand things and part of understanding something is sometimes being wrong.)

I can’t stand the link love game either.  I read tons of great articles and visit tons of sites.  I put up links on my side because I’m lazy, hate bookmarks, and some people might enjoy them.  I don’t engage in promiscuous emails offering other sites that if they show me theirs, I’ll gladly show them mine.  Better yet, they can make their required daily post and fill it with nothing but a huge circle jerk of links so MORE people can be voices in their blogging community!

Let me ask you a question.  When has adding more people EVER been a good idea to anything?  Srs.  Writing the Bill of Rights…Oh sure let’s get Larry the crackhead to put in his two cents.  A broader view of opinions is better right?  Developers designing a game?  Yeah lets hear from the 14-year-old that’s wanking off to strip club scenes in GTA IV.  I want his input on what makes a game good.  Please let’s get China, all the countries with “stans” in their name, and the Middle East to help us with our foreign Policy.

Weakness.  All of it.

Community is a place people huddle together to become “safe” and secure with other people like them who validate them.  It’s a fake sense of identity.

Me?  I like most the people in my social circle, but I like them because their different than me.  That’s where the strength is.  In the conflict.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Terling said, on April 9, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Glorious. I almost spit out my mojito twice reading this.

    • mrfenris said, on April 12, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      I demand you make me a Mojito. I have never had one.

  2. Shari said, on April 10, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Funny, I was just thinking about this the other day.

    The blogs I read fall into two categories: blogs I find entertaining, inspiring, or informative, and blogs of people I know. I’ve never had much patience for popularity contests and attention whoring (which is why I can only manage to drag my sorry ass onto Facebook once every few weeks) so I’ve relegated myself to lurker mode for years. Except here. Lucky you.

    That said, I do think there are valid forms of “community” online — your guild, for one. You hang together because you have common interests and occasionally overlapping goals, and you have fun. You work together to solve problems, you bounce ideas off each other, you know birthdays and kid’s names and what kind of shit you can pull on a fellow guildie without causing a meltdown. Granted, it’s a small group within the larger “community” of WoW players, and the further you zoom out from your little group, the less genuine the actual concept of “community” becomes, until it eventually devolves back into the swamp of populist ego-stroking and dick-waving contests.

    IMO, Facebook addicts and Tweet junkies are far worse than bloggers. They’re the ones that drive me nuts — god forbid they be left out or miss something that might be “important” in their little clique, or not respond right away to a “best friend” invite from someone they haven’t seen or talked to in 20 years. If only they could shove that data stream into an intravenous feed and be done with it…

    (There’s been a big discussion about “friending” bosses and co-workers at work lately. Ha. Like I want my bosses to know the kinds of freaks I hang out with.)

    • mrfenris said, on April 11, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      “and the further you zoom out from your little group, the less genuine the actual concept of “community” becomes, until it eventually devolves back into the swamp of populist ego-stroking and dick-waving contests.”
      -Shari

      I think your onto something here.

      Yeah. Work people. No way in hell I want them to know me. I have enough problems with politiking and image.

      My son decided he could shoot things from his nipples. I told him to stop so then he grabbed them and called them “lightsaber nipples” and twisted his waist back and forth as if sword fighting with them.

  3. Adam said, on April 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    I would never want to join any club that would have someone like me as a member.

    • mrfenris said, on April 12, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      Right? I can barely stand myself.

      I’ve often wondered if theirs a female version of me.

      We’d probably meet, screw, then avoid each other for the rest of our lives.

      Kinda weird, now that I think about it.

  4. Larísa said, on April 16, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Just stumbled upon your blog today and must say I like your ranting style, like fluid out of your mind. But all this hatred to the bloggers out there… I can’t quite understand it. This post makes me wonder why you’r blogging in the first place. If you’re not looking for any kind of dialogue or interaction, why bother? Why not just blog for your drawer? It boggles my mind.

    anyway… apparently you don’t want to have anything whatsoever to do with the blogosphere so I guess I should leave you alone. But I can’t refrain from sending you a friendly pat on your shoulder. You’re a gifted blogger, I can tell.

    Would be nice to see you commenting a bit on other blogs… but apparently that won’t happen. If you change your mind you’re welcome to come and hang out a bit at my inn.

    Ohh… I shouldn’t have said that. I’m definitely pissing you off.

    just a last: /hug

    /cover
    /flee

    • mrfenris said, on April 16, 2010 at 4:20 pm

      Howdy. I appreciate the words.

      I like communication. I do. What I don’t like is this pseudo-communication and interactivity that I see happening all over the world. It’s false. It’s done just to be able to say your “doing something”. I don’t think it has any merit and it’s insulting.

      I have a big mouth and a lot of opinions. At times I probably cross some lines that people draw around themselves. It’s cool. I have my own lines too.

      What I don’t want to do is ever insult people by pretending I have something to say, when I don’t. (The dreaded, well I have to post SOMETHING or I’ll lose readers.)

      I see people apologizing for not having a blog post up everyday? What is that about?

      I don’t want to ever post anything in an attempt to get attention. (If that worked, I’d have nine slightly pudgy women on my lap at all times…)

      I don’t advertise my blog, because it isn’t about how many people read it. Too me it’s about the fact that I’m writing on it. That’s the pay off for me. If I come across people along the way then I’ll see where that road goes.

      Oh and you had me at “inn” (they serve booze at inns right?). Headed back to work now but I’ll take you up on your offer to swing by your place later.

  5. Larisa said, on April 16, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Oh I definitely can agree on that thing: that it’s silly to post posts just to apoligize for not posting. Crazy. I’ve always declaired that I make no promises whatsoever about my blog. One day I might just go silent if I feel that I’m done and don’t have anything more to say. I don’t owe anyone anything. Thanks god for not having ads and other commitments!

    You seem a bit grumpy though. There are some blogs that aren’t all that interesting, but then there are many others that are. And we all have our ups and downs, better and worse blogging days. I think that as a blogger you build a long-term relationship with your readers. Just a handful of them. But it’s damned nice to have those handful of people around.

    Anyway. Grumpy or not, feel welcome to come and visit. If you want to. No obligations you know. It’s a free world etc.

    Cheers!

    PS we have the best booze in Azeroth.

  6. Irmie said, on April 28, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Cake, if make right, will always be better than pie. Also it’s ‘pop’, not ‘soda’.

    • mrfenris said, on April 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      Keep your Canadian propaganda to yourself!

      But what should I expect from someone who goes to a cooking classes filled with special needs people.


Leave a Reply

