The Gray Place

Fried Chicken Boss Strategy

Posted in General Me, WoW by mrfenris on May 2, 2010

I am making a Last Supper I think.  I’ve been working out recipes for this meal I have in my head.  It’s got a few rules.  One it must be simple.  I enjoy simple meals where you can taste the food your eating instead of the 19 different flavors that someone dumped on them.  I think there is a real beauty in creating food that is simple to make and people don’t believe you when you tell them it’s just salt and pepper for seasoning.

Two it only can have four parts.  The meat, the starch, the vegetable, the bread.  Each one has to complement the other and help balance the meal out.  For the past few months I’ve had this meal in my head.  Right now I’m leaning towards Fried Chicken, potato salad, green beans, and biscuits.  Can’t you just taste it?  Crispy slightly salty and spicy chicken, creamy yet with bits of crunch potato salad, crisp buttery bright green green beans, with hot flaky biscuits with butter and a swirl of honey…..

I think last night I finally got my fried chicken recipe down.  I’ve tried dredging it in flour, I’ve tried wet batters, I’ve tried cooking it fast, slow, I’ve tried everything.  I think last night I nailed it.

Fried Chicken Boss Strategy

Phase One

Mix flour and water for your wet batter.  Remember this portion of the fight consists of making sure your batter isn’t too thick because otherwise you’ll get a “bready” coating.  I recommend pre-potting your beer before you begin the pull.  Dip the chicken in the batter then get ready for the second half of phase one.

Dredge the chicken in your dry coating.  I use flour, salt, pepper, and paprika to buff my chicken.  This part of the encounter is NOT a dps race.  You want to make sure every part of your chicken gets these buffs.  It’s important to let the dry coating actually have time to stick to your chicken.  Let it sit there a few rotations before you start Phase Two.

Phase Two

(You may need to reapply your beer buff at this point if it’s fallen off.)

This is the heavy AOE DPS portion of the encounter.  Your oil should be preheated at this point (you can test it by dripping some batter into it).  I use a little bit of oil to cover the portion of the boss (chicken) that’s touching the skillet but I never let it soak in it.  The chicken will be absorbing your oil as the encounter goes on, so you may need to add more as needed.

This is the stage I like to yell at my raiders (kids and dogs) to get out of the fire (kitchen) so they don’t get damaged by AOE splash damage.

The most important thing you can do during this phase is ensure you’ve got your phase one rotation down and you keep adding chicken as you’ve got room in your skillet.  Ensure that your phase one batter/dry coat buffs are maintained and rotate the chicken as needed so you ensure equal DPS with your oil and skillet.

If all goes well you should get all the chicken to go down in less than 30 minutes and voila!

Epic Fried Chicken.

Now I’m headed to the next boss.  Potato Salad.  I have no idea how to make it, but I know I’ve got to find the right potato first.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Irmie said, on May 6, 2010 at 12:04 am

    If I may. A hint for the perfect potato salad, is a dash of dry mustard powder mixed in with the green onion, and egg (mayo, etc as well of course). Topped with a decorative sprinkle of paprika. Yummy.

    • mrfenris said, on May 6, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      You may. But when you have ever listened to me when I’ve told you no?
      No worries my wife won’t take no for an answer either.

      I’m all like “Honey not tonight, no stop.” But she doesn’t listen.

      My beautiful looks are a curse.

  2. Analogue said, on May 7, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Try Yukon Gold potatoes, cut into just the right size pieces so you can cook them properly, and don’t forget to refrigerate them before you add the mayo etc.

    • mrfenris said, on May 7, 2010 at 11:36 pm

      Excellent. Next grocery trip is going to be heavy on the potatoes I can tell.

      And I just had the excellent idea to build a potato gun for the leftovers!

      I wonder if my Labs could catch them.

  3. Doug said, on May 13, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Now I’m hungry… for some chicken.


Leave a Reply

