The Gray Place

Kansas

Posted in General Me, WoW by mrfenris on May 25, 2010

Driving around this morning I saw a mentally handicapped woman staring at another person in the vehicle next to hers.  He tried waving and smiled at her but she just stared intently.  I can’t tell if her gaze was “lost” or maybe she was seeing something profound to her.

Probably both.

I have no idea what’s going to happen to my guild, before Cataclysm.  We’ve got a bunch of people “taking a break” including a GM.  We’ve got a player who used to carry a lot of water (that’s me) scale waaaay back and resign from various guild duties.   We’ve got probably our best player who transferred servers looking for a little “more”.  We don’t seem to have much of an edge right now.

But I’m not complaining.

Before work this morning I took my kids to their grandmother’s like I always do on days the lovely, chubby, wife and I both work.  My daughter took along some Barbie Princess computer thingy we got her for her birthday.  It’s pretty basic;  Numbers, letters, and word type games.  My son remarked that he wished they made a Spiderman one so he could have one.

Now my son is twice her age and I’m not bragging, but the kid is too damn smart for his own good.  He’s the type that sits working on a problem until he figures it out.  He loves puzzles and mazes and anything electronic.

I don’t chide my kids every time they speak, since sometimes they just want to squawk about stuff and don’t mean anything by it.  But I wanted to try to point something out to him.

I told him that he shouldn’t think about what he doesn’t have all the time.  He should think about what he DOES have.  Now I know that sounds like some drippy, estrogen fueled, vaggie, Oprah “wisdom”, but people always looks at what is “not” instead of what “is”.

I pointed out nicely that he was too old for something like that since he’s already learned all that.  I reminded him that he’s got a Wii, a DS, plays on my laptop, plays on my desktop (he pushes the buttons in Dragon Age: Origins, Shield Slam FTW!), and uses his grandma’s Ipod Touch.  These are all things that his sister doesn’t do yet.

I tried to get him to see that when he looks at the things he actually does have, they outnumber the things he doesn’t have.

Of course he just mumbled “yeah” and looked out the window, most likely thinking “but I still wish I had a Spider-Man one”.

I can’t tell if my guild is getting ready to fade away into nothing, but if it is, I hope the members stop for a minute and think about the things they do have.

They have a solid core group of people on every night.
They have a solid core raid team.
They have members who are stepping up and assuming responsibilities.
They have good people in the guild.
They have excellent resources in terms of data and organization via our website.
They have (by and large) zero drama.
They have a good solid reputation of being good players and good people under our guild tag.
They got carried farther in our guild then they would in 80% of other guilds.  (some REALLY got carried)
They have a history.

Now I myself don’t know where I’m going to end up in the future.  But I do know if I go somewhere else, I’ll remember my guild fondly for the things it DID have instead of what it didn’t.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek the Cleric said, on May 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    So I’m not the only one who’s thought about this. When Probably Our Best Player left his GBCW post, the first thing I thought was: “Smart kid. He sees the writing on the wall.”

    It bothers me, seriously. For me, the guild is pretty much ideal. Can you imagine my realm forum post?

    “Hi, I’ve recently become unguilded and need a new guild. Must be mature, fair and friendly enough to distribute loot quickly with just a /roll system, diverse, include RL friends (and IG friends who have become RL friends!), and casual but with regular raids, 10/12 ICC progression, and occasional side events. Prefer excellent website. Pst.”

    Either I’d have to follow people to whatever refugee guild we find, or join back up with my old RP guild that doesn’t do much raiding and usually only has 1 or 2 other people online at a time. If the guild does collapse, there’s a pretty good chance I would just cancel my subscription.

    • mrfenris said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      Yeah that’s kinda where I am.

      There’s a few people I wouldn’t mind sticking with.

      I dunno. We went through this shit in TBC and ended up stronger for it. We’ll see what plays out.

      I’m not emo about it. With Star Wars not being out till 2011 I think we’ll be around in some form or another.

      The Starcraft II debuff might hurt a little.

  2. pallylaw said, on May 25, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    I’ve been thinking the same recently. It sucks that I’ve been on a different schedule than most ppl in our guild. When I had time, I tried to hit achievements, do progression raiding, etc. but since January, 2010, I haven’t had much time until now. But now, it’s hard to get things done. I see less and less guildies online and it makes me sad. I know a few made alliance players, a few made alts, and a bunch are ‘taking a break’ but for me, it’s frustrating. I joined the guild so that we could do things together but now that the more hardcore players are “on leave” or “part time status” until Cata comes up, I’m either going to have to beg for help (which I haven’t done yet) or grind out lower lvl achievements with my main (which is what I’m doing now and is amazingly boring). I want to get into ICC runs but it’s hard, esp. since raid nights seem to be the only nights that many ppl are on. A lot of change happened during this Spring semester which left me out of touch with a lot of the newer members and out of touch with the guild dynamics. I’ve always wanted to be more involved but just haven’t had the time.

    I have no idea how things are going to play out. My schedule gets a bit rough again starting June and will get heinous at the end of July – mid August and I don’t know how the fall semester is going to play out.

    If our guild falls apart, I will either 1. stop playing or 2. join whatever guild my husband goes to

    p.s. sorry that my post is so long

    • mrfenris said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      If the guild falls apart I’m going to ninja the bank.

      BTW

      Tell your husband Girls Gone Feral is recruiting on the Alliance side…

  3. Irmie said, on May 26, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    It has hurt me deeply that we reached this point. But we’ve always said ‘real life first’. And man oh man, real life hit me hard and good. I can normally weather the storms of real life and not let it affect my ability to ensure the guild is covered. Nearly two years of solid focus, ensuring that no matter who is helping or taking a break from guild responsibilities, I could manage it. I could motivate. I could ensure the continuity. With my recent changes in life, I can’t continue with that right now.

    I feel this falls squarely on my shoulders, and of course, it does. Unfortunately, as much as well all love the guild, especially me – I couldn’t keep it up the past 4 months. It is my sincere hope that others in the group, who value what we ‘do have’ in the guild (as mentioned in this blog post) will be able to step up and become the motivators and ensure some continuity in the absence of the previous cheerleaders. I know we have the people who can do it, now it comes down to the willingness of them to take it upon themselves.

    Just because leadership changes, doesn’t mean the core values have to change. That’s my hope.

    • mrfenris said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      Don’t be a suck and feel guilty.

      Everything is temporary.

      Personally I think we need to let more hot, loose, women with webcams in the guild.

      Well besides the ones we already have.

      I’ve always been amazed we’re such a diverse group of people. Women, gays, professionals, slacktards, and slim and trim studs like myself.

      PS: I just wished your husbands penis Happy Birthday.

  4. Terling said, on May 26, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    I know for me it has been a lot of end of school (for the kiddos), Spring/Summer social stuff starting (when did I get a social life outside of one weekend in September?), losing the job (hopefully soon rectified;, if not, unemployment starts in two weeks), and skating the edges of wife aggro.

    I spent 6 hours preparing for an interview by reviewing a 251 page standards document and a 1387 page document and a seminar manual from sometime around 2003? (The company that produced it has been purchased two or three times since then.) I have vetted over 1000 jobs via on-line forums and applied for four – all of them recommended by friends or recruiters recommended by friends.

    Pool area is dug out and mostly flat, can put it up as soon as I get a ground cloth or three big enough. Once it is filled, it only takes an hour a week or so to keep up. Come on over with or without the wife and kids and take a float. Silly thing is 15′ in diameter. (Or as Mournes pointed out, almost three of him across.)

    Do I feel guilty that I haven’t been on more? No.

    Do I feel a little sad, that I haven’t been able to play more? Yeah, but not so much as to discount other RL things that have been going on.

    Kids are out of school this week, I’ll have a better idea of how my job search is going after 3 PM today, and I’ll finally get to play a little bit.

    I like who we have in the guild. I like what we can do, when we step out of the fire (figurative and literal).

    Let’s keep pluggin’ and hold off on writing the obituary for a while? Sound like a plan?

  5. pallylaw said, on June 19, 2010 at 12:43 am

    this is what i get for not getting emails sent to me when someone replies. irms, don’t feel bad about anything. i think enough of us keep in touch in RL to keep in touch through the game. i’m here until i hear otherwise from you guys.

    E, congrats on the job. hope your move and such goes smoothly. keep me posted about the fluid bb

  6. pallylaw said, on June 19, 2010 at 12:44 am

    oops fluid bbq plans bc we’d still love to come.
    irms, take care of the little one and hugs to forty and take your time.
    S, see you in game =)

    [chillin and waiting]


Leave a Reply

