The Gray Place

I, Betrayer

Posted in Gaming, General Me, WoW by mrfenris on June 8, 2010

Dear Marcus Brutus, Benedict Arnold, Eddie Van Halen, and last but not least, the man with the 30 silver plan….Judas,

Today at long last I join you.  I cannot ignore mine yearnings any longer.  My heart has turned as black as night and as cold as pig iron.  Today I shall swim against the current of escapism and pure bullshit that is The Gray Place.  I thrust my chained arms at the sky and shake off Larissa’s mantle of anointed grumpiness.  Today I shall embrace the community as if we were young (but legal!) teenage girls wearing our tight pajamas at a slumber party and we were slightly sweaty from having a pillow fight and promising each other that we wouldn’t tell anyone how curious we were about each other’s bodies. And just how good for that brief moment we felt in each other’s arms.

Today I post something on my titty to help someone…

*drum roll*

“Dear keyboard turning melee DPS.  You suck cock.  Roll a Hunter.”

Yes you.

WoW has an instruction book.  I saw it once.  I remember flipping through it vaguely looking at the art work.  And like Nietzsche’s younger brother Carlos once said, “Print is dead”.  So I didn’t read it.  Instead I went to youtube.  I sifted through the videos, I saw things ranging from rotations, to boss strats, “his name is” Nyhm, to all sorts of things I’ll wish I hadn’t wasted time on when I’m on my death-bed with my children gathered around.

However some folks don’t do this.  Instead they log in, click, start to kill a few wolves, click, spin in the slowest circle possible, head to Goldshire to stare at the dickweeds hanging out their in their purpz, click, head to Outlands, click, get told their DPS sucks, click, get asked why as a warrior they need cloth spellpower gloves, click, and finally they go to Northrend to pick up their welfare checks, click, and then they head back to Goldshire to impress the noobs.

And they were 100% successful.  Oh sure I know I know.  I bet they “can do moar DPS then u”.  I understand that.  No really.  You win.  I am humbled by your attitude.  See that was easy wasn’t it?  But I don’t understand why you get pissed off when my Rankwatch whispers you and tells you that you’re using a level one skill and the proper skill to use at your level is rank 8482.  I don’t understand why when your turning you back to the mobs while tanking and the healer asks you nicely not to and goes further into detail on why exactly you shouldn’t, you tell him to “STFU”.  I have no idea why you get hurt when you whine about your DPS but don’t want to take anyone’s critiques or better yet, you get upset when they tell you to do your class research.

It’s your 15 bucks.  Harm no one.  Do what ye will.  But don’t get upset when you suck more than your average bear  (that’s not a Druid reference).  The info’s out there.  It’s not in WoW.  The “Instruction Booklet Included Age” is at an end.  We live in a media enriched world.  Official forums, fan sites, videos, podcasts, pictures, graphs, and lastly that Disc priest chic’s epic flow charts.

If you don’t use them.  You will suck more than other people.  Period.  If your okay with that, you don’t care what I think about it.

But if you do care?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek the Cleric said, on June 8, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    “But I don’t understand why you get pissed off when my Rankwatch whispers you and tells you that you’re using a level one skill and the proper skill to use at your level is rank 8482.”

    When I was a kid, I hung out with a lot of normal, well-adjusted kids, but also some jerks. One thing I noticed that the jerks had in common was that, whenever they would accidentally dial a wrong number, instead of saying “o my bad, sorry to bother you,” they would say, “fuck you motherfucker,” before hanging up, like it was the guy on the other end’s fault they got the numbers wrong. I think it’s the same impulse here.

    I think in a lot of other cases, people don’t really want to be good at Wow. They just want a place to trash without having to put any effort into learning the game or being nice to people. They’re dead weight floating down the XP river to Dalaran, a ninja guild with a meaningless tag, and a life of heroics and mismatched badge gear.

    • mrfenris said, on June 8, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      I agree.

      Yeah I really don’t care if you suck. I hardly ever call people out. But when you make it my problem (not facing mobs while tanking) or ask for help but then whine about leg work, that’s when I get annoyed.

      More brain dead then normal. That’s all I got.

      Um.

      Tacos?

  2. Shari said, on June 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    The thing about these games is that some people take them at least semi-seriously, some play for fun, and some play to “prove” they’re badasses who don’t have to play nice, and then get their panties in a bunch when someone who actually pays attention takes them down a peg.

    The people who take it at least semi-seriously, who have time and patience and motivation to research the tricks and keyboard mapping and whatnot, they’re the ones who become good at their chosen role. They pay attention to the blogs and to vet players.

    The people who are playing to have fun either don’t have the time/motivation for research, etc., or they mostly play solo with occasional grouping for events. (Yes, this would be me, if I ever got back into MMOs again.) They might pick up occasional tips from blogs, and advice from vet players is nice — but sometimes the vet comes across as bitchy or condescending or impatient, and that doesn’t exactly endear them to anyone. Especially in text, since it can be very hard to pick up “tone of voice” and such. I don’t know whether that’s an issue in your guild, but I ran into that a lot the brief few days I tried WoW, and that was a major reason I decided it just wasn’t worth it.

    And the others … meh. A waste of pixels.

    Thing to remember is, playing styles and interests vary. They’ll probably just keep whining about their results, and you’ll probably just keep bitching about their playing style. The world will go on turning.

    And now back to your naughty schoolgirl sleepover. I’d offer to do your hair, but you haven’t got any…

    • mrfenris said, on June 8, 2010 at 4:10 pm

      I have hair in “other” places….

      I mean you offered.

  3. Cozmo D said, on June 9, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    I approve of this mssage!


Leave a Reply

