The Gray Place

Guild Dead: DNR

Posted in General Me, WoW by mrfenris on September 21, 2010

The Crux-

It looks like for all intents and purposes my guild is no longer a functional guild.  It nearly hit it’s three-year anniversary mark, which like “dog years” doesn’t equal 1 year per 1 year.  According to the latest math at Elitist Jerks, in WoW years, that makes it about 257-331 years old depending if you gem for armor pen or not.  Not too bad.

I don’t care about the reasons as to why it’s in the shape it is, what or who happened, or even how it could have been avoided.

I think it needed to happen (actually truth be told I think it needed to happen sooner).  Everything has an end to it.  It was an awesome ride and I had an absolute blast being with it from start to finish.  I have no regrets and will remember it fondly.

The Free Fall-

Of course now a bunch of people are in free fall and scrambling around deciding what to do.  Some have lined up guild spots on other servers, some have jumped ship into other guilds on our server, some are waiting to see what everyone else does, some are talking about starting their own guild, some of us are just waiting till Soonaclysm to make our move, some are gonna stay in our guild even though the GM said she had no plans for anything organized in the future.  Some, some, some, some.

I think I have a unique perspective, since I have always tried to keep myself at an arms distance from the guild.  (sometimes it even worked).  I am a loner by nature.  I observe, dissect, and interact on my terms.  I try to avoid herd mentality and knee jerk reactions.  (again sometimes it even works.)  Even through my days as a GM, Raid Leader, and Officer I always tried to keep things “loose and clean” because I knew this day would come.

That isn’t meant to sound superior.  It just “is”.

The Plan-

Everyone is laying out their plans on where they want to end up.  I keep getting offers, questions, advice, and suggestions (even though I don’t ask for advice) on what I should do.  These are people I’ve known for over 2 years.  Some I’ve met in real life, others are real life friends of mine, some I just know by their cliché fantasy name.

Some are angry, some are blissfully unaware of just how much they were carried and now their acting righteous *snicker*, some are disheartened, some don’t care at all.  There’s a few of us that I think are ready for whatever comes next, with no ill feelings either way.

I’m in a very flexible spot at the moment.

1.  I don’t need anything.  People, raids, gear, company, friends, etc.  I try to be self-sustaining.  When that doesn’t work I turn to booze and loose women.  Albeit my loose women quota has dropped since being married.  Well at least down to just one, she being my wife.

2.  I don’t care about guild oriented things like the new guild abilities.  Vanity pets?  Don’t care.  Mounts?  Don’t care.  Tabard?  Don’t care.  Unless it raises my DPS, HPS, or Effective Health….I don’t care.  Period.

3.  My lifestyle (ribbed for her selfish pleasure) doesn’t fit srs WoW right now.  I can’t raid with any frequency anytime soon.  I don’t plan on making a mad dash to 85 in Soonaclysm.  I can dink around and PvP or practice different specs as I kill time and unwind playing a video game as it fits my “life load”.

4.  I will never put as much personal effort into another guild as I did with my old one.  Nothing bitter.  I had more time and “needs” back then.  I don’t now.  It’s simple.  I just want to be a good player and have some fun at the end of the day.

So when I tell everyone I really don’t know what I’m going to do now that we’re “dead”, I really do mean that.  I’m not being coy or sitting on the fence.  I really dont know what I’m going to do and I don’t NEED to know.

Most likely I’ll just start over somewhere brand new on another server with my level one Goblin Prot Warrior and see what comes my way.  One day I’ll get back into raiding again, but for the time being I just want to play a video game.  Maybe I’ll try the Alliance and see how the rich kids live. Those damn Joneses on the North side have all the coolest toys and the cops don’t hassel them when they walk down the street.

The Dread-

Is that my penis falls off.

Seriously.  We spend a lot of time together.  I’d miss him, slight bend and all.

Other than that biggie, it’s my sincere hope that things don’t turn personal and people start getting bitchy with one another.  I don’t want to hear about the drama of what caused what, who always sucked anyway, how it should have been handled, and whose on whose side.  I’ve seen it happen in the past, I’ve heard rumblings about it, I don’t want any damn part in it.

The last 2+ years have been a blast and while I will always reflect on things that could have been better, I don’t have any regrets about how things went.  I consider everything a learning experience, especially the part where I was drug face first along a gravel road behind a truck while a pack of pit bulls bit my genitals or as I call it…raid leading a guild of “socials”.   I still twitch whenever I think about Heigan.

The TLDR-

My guild is dead.  I have no idea of what I’m going to do.

And you know what?

It feels great.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Irmie said, on September 22, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    I’ve avoided all fall out so far. Being a woman, and being pregnant, there are emotions to consider here so I’ve spent a few days away from hearing what is going on. I’ll miss all the people who leave – I sincerely enjoy each person in TC. But I think the writing was on the wall a long time ago…at least 4 months or more now. This isn’t really a shock to anyone – the only shock is that people can now leave freely and with our blessing, and that people are choosing to do so. I wish them all the best…our guild motto was always play how it makes you the happiest, and that motto holds true today as well.

  2. pallyphillycamlaw said, on September 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    at the end of the day, i met some of the nicest ppl i could have ever imagined. My guild friends were > RL friends as many of our RL friends just don’t play ‘games’ in general. hubby + i still want to visit Canada to see the little rugrat once he’s born and we’re still hoping to come to a “meat fest” wherever the location may be – our new home is not what we had and i don’t think i’ll ever find the same thing again – honestly, i’m holding onto WOW as long as I can bc once next May hits, I should not be on much, if any, bc of yet…more studying.

    i hope i didn’t chew your ears off too much when I was venting and thank you both for your input, i do value it a lot. also, i wish i could have say “bye” more personally to both of you but I hope that we remain in touch through our blogs and emails. Savi: if you decide to keep a toon on the server, please let us know as I know Yobo valued you as a friend and player (and me too).

  3. Doug said, on September 22, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Did you just call your wife loose? I mean, thats not be a bad thing. 🙂 I meant that affectionately.


Leave a Reply

