The Gray Place

“That” Guy

Posted in Gaming, General Me, WoW by mrfenris on October 9, 2010

I think I’ve been this guy before.  The guy whose friends are gamers but don’t play WoW.  Instead they’re table-top role-players, miniature gamers, console gamers, card gamers, board gamers, etc.

Oh a newsflash for those not in the know about gamers…yeah most of them like to feel superior to other gamers.

The table-top gamers like to snicker about the card players because “TCG’s are not art”, the war gamers think everyone is beneath them and could crush them with infantry supported armored cav, board gamers tend to spit on the random dice rolling games made by Hasbro and only play “deep” games with strategy that are made in das munterland oft Germany.

Yes I read Troll Racials Are Overpowered today.  I am not dogging out my gamer friends who don’t play Warcraft.  My friendships tend to be very loose and far apart.  I just do my thing and other people do their thing.  It’s a non-issue

But I’m sitting here thinking to myself on what I would share with my non-WoW friends to show them why I play World of Warcraft and this is what I came up with.  It’s probably not what everyone else would…

  • One ten dollar bill.  One five dollar bill.  Hey it’s cheap and you get a TON for that 15 bucks a month.
  • Ventrillo.  The simple fact that I can talk in real time with my friends while we play a video game is one of the sole reasons I’m still around.  It adds a HUGE element to the game that I know more people would enjoy if they tried it.
  • Night Elf and Dranai females pillow fighting.
  • An instance.  Seriously I know we’re all jaded, but do you remember the first time you saw the big fiery forge in Utegard Keep.  What about the first time you walked on one of those huge chains in whatever that place is.  (Your Vanilla WoW means NOTHING to me.  NOTHING.)  There’s some epic beauty in this game (I love the broken floating stained glass windows in Ulduar).
  • Talent trees.  Gamers love to min/max, they love to have options and duel spec their half-elf, half-orc wizard/rogues for their DnD game.  You mean they can just switch specs in the middle and either be a healer OR a fighter?
  • A raid.  The concentrated effort of 10 or 25 people all working together to kill one boss is amazing to me.  The strategy, the determination, the cheers over vent, it’s awesome.  It’s a team effort.  I really think a lot of role players and war gamers would leap at this is they saw it.

Anyway.  Yeah just a thought.

Oh my friday ICC 10 “pug” run.  I sucked as raid lead.  I ended up tanking (first time in MONTHS) then switching to healing for Dreamwalker and Sindy.

Wiped 3 times on Sindy but we had it but it was past the end time so I called it.  Might do it again Friday.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mournes said, on October 9, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Interestingly a lot of the stuff you’d show to people to show them the “funnest” parts of the game are behind barriers. You can’t instance until level 15 which took 6-8 hours my first time. Then raiding which naturally you can’t get until you’ve invested at least a couple months leveling. Talent trees don’t start until 10 and don’t actually get interesting until at least mid levels when you actually have enough to make meaningful choices. Nothing depressed me when leveling more than putting a point into something like +3 yards to frost bolt’s range!

    I guess my point is the “fun” parts of the game are pretty hard to get to and a lot of them can be reached in other games much quicker. Borderlands for example provides: talents trees, effectively an entire world as instance and if you’re playing multi-player fun group tactics and voice chat. And I get to do all that without investing weeks and months to get to the “fun”. L4D does all of it accept talent trees. Neither of them charge monthly.

    Not Dogging your points out here. I actually rather enjoy the leveling game I’m citing as the barrier to the fun. Just sort of spewing about game theory here. Blizzard is after your “not that much” $15 and they limit their appeal to get it. I find it interesting. With 12 Million strong it doesn’t exactly sound like they’re hurting, but I wonder how much more popular they could be if you could just get to the parts you want to play.

    Yes I’ll be back for Cata.

    P.S. I have ton more on the gamers vs. WoW player angle I could post. Respecs in particular is an interesting subject to me.

    • mrfenris said, on October 14, 2010 at 3:35 pm

      No.

      ***

      As far as game design goes.

      God yes I can’t stand that my level 80 can’t play with my brother’s level 20. This game encourages you to only play with a small portion of it’s players.

      Sucks.

      How have you been?

      • mrfenris said, on October 14, 2010 at 3:38 pm

        Further I don’t think subscription models work well with the leveling system that your calling a barrier.

        L4D gives you x amount of content for x amount of dollars. It’s a one shot deal.

        WoW gives you progressive content for progressive amounts of dollars per month.

        Apples and Oranges?

        But yet it’s still all fruit.


Leave a Reply

