The Gray Place

Of course it broke.

Posted in General Me, Preizt, WoW by mrfenris on October 14, 2010

Burned out from tanking, bored in-game, and having an overall short attention span I decided to roll a priest one day.

Having only ever healed as a Holy Paladin…Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz  *snort* Oh sorry.  Fell asleep.  Yeah that’s how much fun it was.

Anyway having only healed on a Holy Paladin, I had heard about how good priests were hard to find.  My old guild had always been a short bus guild that had odd make ups in our roster (one night we only had Rogues and Hunters for DPS in our raid) and had never had a Priest for very long.

Furthermore I had heard it be said that Holy Priests were difficult to master and decided that’s what I wanted to be.  I was immediately intrigued because Holy Paladin’s had only 3 heals at the time and Priests had 10,391.

Resto Druids seemed a dime a dozen and for some weird reason I can never get a Druid past 30.  Resto Shaman looked interesting but I was really attracted to the fact that Priests had two separate specs devoted to healing.

So there I sat in front of the character selection screen.  I immediately selected Blood Elf and let me tell you why.  It’s not the flowing hair, it’s not the models, it’s not the racial abilities.

It’s the starting zone.  There was no way in hell I could take another Orc, Troll, Forsaken, or Tauren through the Barrens or Brill.   Can’t do it.  Won’t do it.

The Silvermoon and Ghostlands zones were newer as of TBC, designed better as their quests are centrally located, and overall much quicker in leveling speed.  That’s why I picked a Blood Elf.  I’ll prob switch to a Goblin when I’m able too.

So I sat there trying to think of a name.  I honestly don’t put much thought into such things, I just have a few rules.

1.  It has to be four letters long.  Quirk.  (Likewise all my children have names that can be broken down into three letters.)

2.  It has to start with an “S”.  (My Hunter is the only character I have that doesn’t start with an “s”).

So I’m figuring I’ll only have this character till I decide I hate it at level 30 (see Druids) and delete it.  I hit the random name generator button a few times, find a name, shave off the fifth letter and viola!  A Priest is born.

I smite my way into boredom.  I get a wand and wand my way into boredom.  LFG is born and I heal as Shadow all the way until I can get Circle of Healing and then I go Holy.  I hardly do any quests (I still hardly have any flight paths) instead I keep my nose to the grindstone and level almost exclusively in LFG.  Being the pure being of goodness I am, I never have to wait very long for a group since I’m “Teh Healer” and not a dirty DPS.

So I’m a happy Holy Priest, blending and weaving my subtle and gentle heal spells through the party until I find myself a stranger in a strange land populated by these dark, savage beasts, who seem hell-bent on their own destruction…

Death Knights.

Now I like Death Knights.  I have one sitting at level 78.  I’ve tanked on him a bunch until I decided to go back to my pally.  I like healing Death Knight tanks.  In fact there isn’t a tank I dislike healing as long as they have some idea of what their job is.

But Death Knights are a dime a dozen in Outlands.  Everyone makes em, gets a few levels on them, then ditches them.  In the process they destroy countless lives of healers and their children as they act like jacktards and slop their way through five mans.

So.  Constantly out of mana (Holy mana isn’t very forgiving in the 60’s, having to drink every pull, and basically feeling slowed down by stupidity I do the unthinkable.

I respecced Disc and never looked back.  So here I be.  Penancing, flash healing, bubblezing, afking, and slouching through Wrath of the Lich King.

These days I actually get excited when I have something to heal and sometimes I’ll let my tank get curb stomped just to warrant casting Penance.  When I see a DPS getting their face chewed off I let them until it’s worth my limitless mana pool to heal them.   When I just want to mail it in I just bubble my party and go get a Pepsi.

I love getting a new tank who’s nervous and when they explain in party that their new or have never done this boss, I like to be able to tell them.  “No worries.”  And I mean it.  I like being the guy between life and death.

Sometimes the shit hits the fan and I zig when I should have zagged.  I make mistakes and have dropped people I could have saved.  It happens.  But I like to think of myself as the backbone of the party.  I know the tank has 3 other DPS they are trying to keep aggro from, they’ve got mobs and environmentals to deal with, and they’ve got that question that is seared in the back of EVERY tanks mind “Am I strong enough to take all this damage?”.

The last thing I want them to worry about is “Am I going to get heals?”.  Yep.  Yes you are, because I’ve got you.  I’ve been there.  I’ve tanked it all, I’ve had all the problems that you face as a tank, and I’ve asked myself the same questions.

So I’m heading into Cataclysm as a Priest.  I’ll probably stay Disc, unless my new guild’s healing roster composition changes or as strategy dictates.

I honestly never thought I’d end up healing, but I find it extremely calming and even when things go south I like to be the guy that’s a large part of the reason, they only go south and not all the way to Hell.

It’s odd.  When your with any other healer people tend to measure how good their healer is by how much damage they healed or how many people they saved from near death.

But us Discipline Priest’s we’re different.  When you don’t take any damage at all, that’s where were at our best.  And you may never even notice it.

I was hoping to reflect on Smite/Atonement today.  But of COURSE IT WAS BUGGED AND NOT WORKING SINCE IT WAS THE ONLY FUCKING THING I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO TRYING.  OF COURSE I NOTICED IT MID-RUN DURING A GUILD VoA WHERE I’M SUPPOSED TO BE HEALING AND I’M NOT SEEING ANY HEALS FROM IT!

Film at 11.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Adam said, on October 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    4 letter name that starts with S … Shit?

    • mrfenris said, on October 20, 2010 at 1:05 am

      That name is unavailable.

      I have not logged into my rogue yet. I haven’t even checked out EJ or a talent tree.

      Maybe once Cataclysm actually hits I will. Maybe if I could get into some ICC 10s with him I would. I need new weapons.

      Right now, my Priest and Huntard are keeping me busy.


Leave a Reply

