The Gray Place

The Ultimate 4.0 Holy Priest Guide

Posted in Preizt, WoW by mrfenris on October 20, 2010

Yesterday I saw a young mother with her three small children on the side of the road.  She could have used a little help.  I did not stop.  Instead I turned and kept going.  I wished I had a good reason I didn’t stop.  I just don’t feel like I have the capacity to reach out to anyone or anything right now.  These last two months have used up anything I’ve had.

I wish I could blame it on the fact that I’m largely broken as a person, I wish I could blame it on the “thing that I can’t talk about”, I wish I could blame it on being tired and distant.

But I can’t.  Point blank, I should have stopped.

The Smite/Atonement Discipline Priest build seems crude and clunky.  I think that’s largely a result of Smite being direct and vanilla.

Smite as a spell is largely boring.  I press this key, it fires of a chunk of raw direct damage, the end.

Then when you wrap a mechanic around it, it almost becomes this hard clunky metal box wrapped in tissue paper, it’s hard edges tearing out of the gift wrap.

The timing of it feels all wrong.  Smite, smite, smite, smite, quick activate Archangel before your stacks drop, etc.  I think the stacks need to have a longer cooldowns themselves.  The mechanic doesn’t feel integrated into the game.  Instead it feels copy pasted.

I’m sure the fanboys are clamoring for me to defend myself with a better idea, so here it is.

“Dear Blizzard:  Make something that I like better.”

What?  It’s not my job to develop video games.  That’s what I pay them for.

I will be keeping my Disc spec but I will speccing out of the Smite/Atonement build.

I love Holy.  Love it.

I hear people describe it as confusing and I’m puzzled.  Lots of things confuse me in life.  Women, anime, math, all sorts of stuff.  But the new Holy spec is far from confusing in my opinion.

Here’s an abridged version for all you cunfuddled players out there.

Mrfenris’s Guide to Holy Priests 4.0-

1. Chakra.  Press it before you cast Prayer of Healing, Renew, Heal, or lolSmite.

2. If you cast PoH in step one you have bleu circle things at your feet.  You are in AOE healing Chakra mode.  Top the meters and giggle.  You can also cast Holy Word: Chastise and drop an awesome AOE heal on the floor so your DPS can stand in it and the fire.

2a. If you cast Renew in step one you have green circle things at your feet.  You are in Renew healing Chakra mode.  Go out of mana and QQ on the forums.  You can also cast Holy Word: Chastise and it magically turns into the HoT Holy Word: Aspire.

2b. If you cast Heal in step one you have douche colored circle things at your feet.  You are in Douche healing Chakra mode.  You can also cast Holy Word: Chastise which turns into Holy Word: Douche, which is what you are for using the suckass Heal spell before Cataclysm.

2c. If you cast lolSmite in step one you have red colored circle things at your feet.  You are in lolSmite damage Chakra mode.  Smite your way into 2k DPS and obviously you’re not needed as a healer and you should have gone Shadow.  You can now also cast Holy Word: Chastise like my mother used to when I was less than perfect.

There.  That’s all you need to know about Holy 4.0.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pallyphillycamlaw said, on October 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    so i had this awesome post to your previous post about ❤ healing bc i also ❤ healing – i find it nerve wrecking yet calming at the same time – i'm not too happy re: changes to the holy pally tree but it does give me a bit more umph in my rotation – adding, more or less, 3 instant heals are nice (2 on 6s and 20s CDs and WoG based on holy power) but messing with FoL and HL and adding another version of HL (DL) is annoying – lowering BoL to 50% also sucks and i haven't been able to figure out what my real heal is v. Oheals yet

    anyways, glad to see that you like healing – i haven't even looked at my mage yet (I've been sick more or less for 2.5 weeks not = not a lot of WOW time since 4.0) – i am grateful that grid finally updated and now i'm back to my grid+clique combo (had to add 2 more clique combos bc of the increase # of heals we have)

    hope you're doing well – hope big kick and the family are doing well.
    hugs

  2. Bee said, on November 2, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    “Then when you wrap a mechanic around it, it almost becomes this hard clunky metal box wrapped in tissue paper, it’s hard edges tearing out of the gift wrap.”

    I feel you on this. Sometimes that is exactly what it feels like. But I have a prescription to help it feel smoother. Try popping Power Infusion on yourself, starting with a holy fire (to increase the damage of each smite thereafter and each complimentary heal) and then smite away. You can stack your Evanglism so fast and it feels liquid and smooth, rather than boxy and static.

    • mrfenris said, on November 3, 2010 at 12:39 pm

      I’ll have to try the Holy Fire bit, I read on EJ that it actually lowers your overall HPS/DPS by not casting that first Smite, but I mean were talking pennies here.

      And I’m a scrub so….that missed Smite won’t cause us not to kill Lich King on Mega Hard Mode x3.


Leave a Reply

