The Gray Place

Full Belly

Posted in Gaming, General Me, WoW by mrfenris on November 23, 2010

I do not read quest text.  In fact I hardly ever do.  It’s no secret that I don’t like questing.  I do not find it all that fun, engaging, or immersive.

It’s something I need to do, to level, so I can get to the harder content.  Now don’t misunderstand me.  I think some of the WoW quests are well done.  Working your way towards the Avatar of Freya in Sholazar Basin or working with the Argent Crusade in Icecrown for example, are all pretty cool questlines.  But I only do them because I at the time I HAD too.

Now that the LFG feature hit, quests are just something for me to do while I wait for my queue to pop.

“Don’t know that I will but until I can find me
A girl who’ll stay and won’t play games behind me
I’ll be what I am, A solitary man” -Neil Diamond

I think it comes down to the fact that I don’t find questing in Warcraft very immersive.  There’s been very few moments where I’ve felt caught up in the game and felt connected to it.  I am not bashing Warcraft.  I tend to fine MMO’s very unimmersive in general.  I don’t play Warcraft for some epic storyline to insert myself into.

I was actually driving around at work today and trying to think of actual moments I felt immersed in the World of Warcraft and that’s when I realized that anytime I’ve felt anything remote to being immersed in WoW that it had absolutely nothing to do with questing.

I remember standing in Westfall as an Alliance Paladin nub and seeing the farmland give way into a cliff that overlooked an ocean.  I stood on that cliff and marveled at just how big this world.  I felt like I was realizing that while I came from humble begainings that my Paladin had a huge expansive destiny in front of him to grow into.

I remember my Hunter standing in this huge cavernous room with a giant elemental creature in front of him.  Our Feral Druid rushed in to attack him, our mage started maging, I started shooting, and I naively realized “This is it.  This is what World of Warcraft is.”  I felt like I was this small part of a team vs this huge boss and they needed my help.

I remember being in the dark and firey Shattered Halls gauntlet.  My Protection Paladin in front of my party, protecting them, being the shield that the wave of Fel Orcs broke itself on.  They’d come running and screaming down the hallway, wave after wave as we advanced foot by bloody foot.

I remember freeing all the Keepers in Ulduar and starting our descent into madness as we walked down towards Yogg Saron’s prison.  We passed over broken stone and shattered stained glass windows that floated in the air as if the laws of physics and reason had no bearing here.

“I am not your rolling wheels, I am the highway.
I am not your carpet, I am the sky.
I am not your blowing wind, I am the lightning.” -Audioslave

And so I’m sitting here and realizing that being immeresed into a game doesn’t start at the game itself.  It starts with me.  My imagination ADDING to the game, augementing it, deepening it’s shadows.

It’s easy for me to get jaded and wave off the above events simply as questing in Westfall, (lol) Wailing Caverns, AOE tanking, and heading to kill General V.  After all that’s what it is on the surface.  But too me they’re bits stuck in my memory as times I actually felt part of the game.  I didn’t read every scrap of lore involing the quest, I didn’t watch the boss strat 100 times till i could do it blind folded, I didn’t explain it all away with number crunching and spread sheets.  I just needed to play.

Maybe we don’t need to dive into a game to find it immersive.

Maybe we just need to let go.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Irmie said, on December 16, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    I find now that I often catch myself reminiscing about certain areas. Middle of the day I was thinking ‘I should go run Dire Maul again, that was fun’. It happens a lot now that I can’t play as often as I used to – the desire to just go back and see a place that was a good memory for me.

    However, I’ll tell you now Mr. F you should totally read the quest lines in the new underwater world zone. I laughed out loud at some of the titles and comments. Srs some writer had fun with that, and I had fun reading it.


Leave a Reply

