The Gray Place

Flynn

Posted in Gaming, Preizt, Riffs, WoW by mrfenris on December 16, 2010

Overall…are “good” DPS players finally getting some respect?

Because by and large you get players (mostly always being tanks and healers) who lump all DPS together as a bunch of mindless bots who exist for the sole purpose of sucking, annoying said “real” players, and providing fodder for titties everywhere.  (If your new as some of you are to this titty, the word “blog” is not allowed here.  It’s a stupid word and therefore replaced with another stupid word.  Titty.)

I’ll tell you a dirty secret.  Under geared or insecure tanks and healers LOVE awesome over the top 84228k DPS players.  Forget aggro (which you did in Wrath anyway) if you had 3-18 big dog DPS in your fives or raids you didn’t sweat near as much.  Everyone liked to gnash their teeth at their DPS-mates in general, but if they could lay the smack down then they could completely trivialize an encounter or mechanic.  You could blow your cooldowns and prop up your under geared ass for the first big damage mechanic because you KNEW there wasn’t going to second one because by then the encounter would be over thanks to the deeps.

There are a lot of tanks and healers out there that got propped up by good DPS and they don’t even realize it.

“No soft sucker with a parrot on his shoulder
‘Cause I’m bad gettin’ bolder – cold getting colder
”  -Beastie Boys

Over at Specced fo’ Drama, Ana repeated aloud a comment made to her by a friend.  /cast Copy Paste rank 1 #show tooltip (target=targ=targoftarg=mouseoverbullshit)

“They made it so it’s much harder to play a tank/healer, and much easier to play as DPS.” -Person I do not know but I’m sure they like gravy

I’m ignoring the first part even though I agree a bit.  I mean don’t tanks and healers WANT to be special anyway?  Aren’t they gifts from heaven above, whose bottoms should be nuzzled by woodland creatures, while being fed Fig Newtons by pasty large breasted German MILFs, as the lower themselves to mix with common folk DPS?  I know I am.  “Away with you dirty Huntard!  Do not gaze upon my magnificence as I face roll my tanking rotation!  You are not fit to see my one button macro!”  (Albeit less true today they yesterwrath.)

Where was I?  Right.  German MILFs.  Gives the term “coming back to the Mutterland” a whole new meaning for me.

Now I am admittedly reading the quote without any context given.  So we don’t know if it’s about Wrath vs Catastyle, a general comment, or a quip made in response to another quip.  That’s fine, because I’m not PvPing the original poster in a “internets idea warz”.  I’m just using the said quote to riff on my own points.

Wrath vs Cata:  DPSing got “harder” only in regards to undergeared healers and tanks at this PARTICULAR stage in the expansion.  Do you really think raid gear won’t trivialize heroics?  Because unless Blizzard changes the ENTIRE game’s “time played = better upgrade” design, then we are going to be near Wrath levels at the end of the expansion.  Doubt me?  Tell me how scary the “new” ICC five mans were on heroic once everyone and their mother had welfare gear?  They weren’t.

We could say DPSing got easier in Cataclysm simply just due to game changes made by Blizzard in 4.infinity.  Now you have abilities that help you manage your resources better like moving combo points for Rogues, using some abilities on the run, and not clipping your dots, built into the core game-play.  Nothing made a sadder panda then a old Rogue who just worked his ass off to get his 3  debuffs up on a trash mob, stack 4-5 combo points,  and then see some huntard Kill Shot it before the Rogue can get his finishing move off.  And people wondered why Rogues cried salty, hatey tears over the Fan of Knives nerf?  (God it was sick though).

Furthermore it could be said that DPSing got easier in Cataclysm because Blizzard introduced “helping hands” likes the Power Aura style procs that you can get from abilities.  Before it was only Power Aura junkies that would get such special treatment.  Now whenever you the lab rat press the right buttons, in the right order, magical sparkles shoot from your fingers to light up which abilities you “should” press next.  You get rewarded by the big neon sign that says “HEY DUMBASS YOU’VE GOT A PROC & MOMMA LOVES YOU!!!”.

(Oooo.  On the flip side can someone make an addon that gives a player an electric shock every time they flub their optimal rotation? “Ring that bell and drool you deeps bisches!”)

Or maybe tanking and healing are not really HARDER but they just have consequences that have a more severe impact on the party.

Did you forget to pop shield wall during his enrage period.  Oh sorry.  Your party all wiped.

Did you mistime your Hymn of Hope?  Oh sorry your party died.

Did you fire off Arcane Shot instead of Kill Command?  Oh sorry you lost 300 DPS for this encounter.

Hmmm.

“I had some dreams they were clouds in my coffee
Clouds in my coffee”  -Carly Simon

I no longer care about this post.

However I do not cast dispersion on my DPS brothers and sisters.  I do not cast (a lot) of dispersion fellows tanks and healers.  (I can’t help it.  Anything that’s put on a pedestal demands to be pulled down and smashed into a million pieces as a fundamental rule of the “thing which cannot be spoken of”.  And trust me, I’ve put myself waaaay high on that tank pedestal before.)

Instead I say “What the fuck?  Does it really matter?”

It’s a sodding video game.  (Can only Brits, Aussies, NewZews, and other folks get away with saying “sodding”?)

And the fact that we can sit here are talk about how hard a game is speaks volume to the leisure in our lives.  And now like the true hedonist I am, I’m off to eat an Apple Hostess Fruit Pie, play with the heated mirrors in my work truck, and hope to God I come across an orgy of halfway decent looking women with horrible standards and/or an insatiable lust for balding fat guys.

I’m in like Flynn.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ama said, on December 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    We’re not PvPing in an internet ideas war? Awww… C’mon! I’m a glutton for punishment.

    Nahh…

    I actually completely agree with you. I didn’t post the thoughts of my friend for the purpose of promoting my healer pedestal or grinding any DPS face in the dirt beneath my oh-so-precious heels. It just intrigued me that the DPS who would seemingly have more work to do this expansion is finding his job easier than in Wrath.

    I think you’re right about Power Auras and such being the main reason why it seems easier to do a good job of DPSing. I also think you’re right about the gear thing. I am hopeful though that it won’t be quite so bad as it was in Wrath.

    Considering that I’m not really intending to raid anymore, I don’t really have any right to say anything about any of this. So I’m just gonna shut my big mouth and think about some milky skinned German Milfs for a while, because that seems a much more pleasant thought. Ain’t nothing better than some indulgence on a Wednesday morning.

    • mrfenris said, on December 16, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      Nah I knew how you meant it. I didn’t know what context your friend meant it.

      A lot of players are in for a Cata Culture Shock I think.

      And btw Ama….

      It’s Thursday. Shh it’s a good thing. One day closer to the weekend.

      ***

      You know once I went a whole year thinking I was 33 but I was really 32.

  2. Irmie said, on December 16, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    German MILFS just aren’t doing it for me….

    • mrfenris said, on December 17, 2010 at 11:42 am

      You don’t count your Canadian. You guys like stuff like those risque Moose who shave their crotches.

      Maple Syrup Lube FTW.

      I need that on a tee shirt.


Leave a Reply

